Fantasy Premier League: Week 9 Recap

heisrisen

Now that’s what I’m talmbout!

After back-to-back weekends of fantasy mediocrity, I made a goddamn STATEMENT in week 9.

I apologize for not getting my picks up prior to the fixtures being played out.

LIFE.

Anyhow, Arsenal (@Arsenal) picked up their second clean sheet of the season with a 2-0 victory over Crystal Palace (@Official_CPFC).

This despite a 7th minute injury to Mathieu Flamini and the harsh sending off of captain Mikel Arteta (@m8arteta).

Saying that, we were playing Palace and didn’t look great at times.

Luckily, Flamini‘s injury is unrelated to his recent concussion but given that this recent knock is a groin issue, it appears he will be out for a minimum of two weeks.

Extremely poor timing with the Capital One (@CapitalOne_Cup) match against Chelsea (@chelseafc) tomorrow, as well as upcoming clashes facing Liverpool (@LFC), Dortmund (@BVB), and United (@ManUtd).

The Frenchman’s addition to the squad has revitalized the Arsenal midfield and the importance of his arrival has been equal to that of the Mesut Özil (@MesutOzil1088) acquisition.

Perhaps, even more so, as it has been some time since the Gunners have had a true holding mid.

Nevertheless, we still sit two points clear at the top of the table, we lead the league on goal difference, and we still aren’t getting enough credit.

Let’s move onto the picks.

COYG!

COYG!

*     *     *     *     *

OFFICIAL

fplwk9end

Overall Points: 524

Global: 90,736 (Last week: 102,073)
Fans of Arsenal: 5,012 (Last week: 6,334)
Canada: 779 (Last week: 884)

Private League I: 2 / 17 (20 points out of 1st)
Private League II: 1 / 11 (22 points clear)

*     *     *     *     *

YAHOO!

(click to enlarge)

(click to enlarge)

Total Points: 1061

Global: 2,036 (Last week: 7,887)
Fans of Arsenal: 466 (Last week: 1,834)

Private League I: 1 / 8 (147 points clear)
Private League II: 2 / 6 (2 pts out of 1st)

*     *     *     *     *

Nice to buck the downward trend and have a bit of a turnaround.

I put up my best weekly totals so far this season in the Yahoo! game and had my highest total in the official format since the opening weekend.

There were actually many positives for me.

Every one of my strikers scored in both formats, both keepers picked up clean sheets, and the defenders who were unable to shut out their opponents managed to get themselves on the score sheet.

Nice when that happens.

Suárez (@luis16suarez) was in beastmode and picked up a highlight-reel hat trick.

I actually woke up from a restless sleep at 4am on Saturday in order to give him the armband from Rooney (@WayneRooney).

Lucky me.

Giroud (@_OlivierGiroud_) finally scored again in the PL which is always pleasing to see.

Still expecting a minimum of 20 league goals from him assuming he stays healthy.

I have snuck back into the top 100,000 in the official game and with some funds freed up for next week’s transfer, I have to maintain the pace.

And getting back to where I am sitting just outside of the top 2,000 in the Yahoo! format was satisfying.

I am also close to leading all four of my private leagues and I’m feeling confident moving ahead.

Confident, not cocky.

Stick with me, folks!

How did you make out in Gameweek 9???

Leave a Reply

